Sneak Peek: Don’t Ride by Erasmo

Don’t Ride
Erasmo C.
Mrs. Quinton’s 10th grade class

…Rushing down the long crowded snake hill was Ray and John first. I told them I would go last. Suddenly I see John Jump off the ground and over the stairs and does a 180 on the air and lands it and out of nowhere I see Ray do a short spin and lands it as well. They were waiting for me at the end of the hill, then I realize that is my turn now. Sweat starts to fall out from the sides of my head. My entire body was shaky. I go down the snake hill really fast. It was like a moment of silence, all I can hear was the wind streaming threw my ears. I was trying my best to concentrate but as I’m getting closer to the stairs I get a bad feeling in my stomach as if I know something is about to go wrong.

Out of nowhere when I go for the jump, the back wheel hits the rail of the stairs and made me slip. I crashed into the window of a parked car and fractured my elbow. I can remember just hearing the sound of the bone snap, and the sound of the car window breaking. Everybody in the streets seemed amused when I flipped off the bike. I turn to find Ray and John but they were already on the other side of the streets, laughing and pointing, and booking it down the sidewalk on their bikes…

This post is part of a series.

Leave a Reply

