To Kindle or Not to Kindle, That is the Question.

Behind the Book is testing out kindles in a classroom and we’re asking our students to let us know what they think.  Below are five students’ opinions.   Do you have a Kindle?  Join the discussion.  Which do you prefer:  Kindle or books?  Leave your comments and questions in the comments section.
 
Books Are A Girl’s Best Friend
By Ashante H.
I adored the book “Ninth Ward” because it gave very descriptive details about the setting and events of Hurricane Katrina. It felt like you were in the hurricane!
I’d rather read a book than a Kindle. The book is less complicated than the Kindle. The Kindle is complicated because it takes too long to turn on, and your really waste a lot of reading time trying to turn it on! Also it is hard to be on the same page as other people in a  book club. I think we should stick with traditional reading and to not abandon reading books.
 
Fantastic Kindle
By Jade C.
I recommend kids to read the book “Ninth Ward” because the author Jewell Parker Rhodes inserted a lot of action and details to explain the horror of Hurricane Katrina.I enjoyed the Kindle more than reading the book because of the different features built-in to the Kindle to help me understand the book better. For example, the built-in dictionary helped me search unfamiliar words with ease.  Also the buttons on the side of the Kindle make it easier to turn the page.  Devices like the Kindle make reading exciting and fantastic.
Convenient Kindle
By Mithila T.
I had the pleasure of reading the Ninth Ward by Jewell Parker Rhodes.This book was based on real events that took place in the past. Through this book i learned how thousands of people survived the devastating Hurricane Katrina. This book shows that with courage and determination you can do anything. I was surprised by the fact that Lanesha was able to survive the flood without Mama Ya-Ya. If I were in her shoes I would have been the first one to give up! After reading this book, I realized that love and friendship are strong powers and it supports you during crisis.In my opinion, reading with the Kindle was much more convenient than reading with a book. One reason why I preferred the Kindle was because i didn’t have to turn the pages and it helped me read faster. Also, the features on the Kindle helped me understand what i read. However there were some things I disliked about the Kindle. There were no page numbers, which made it difficult to find the exact pages if you lost track of where you were. Overall, reading on a Kindle was an awesome experience!
Middle Road
By: Amanda G.
It was a wonderful experience to read the book “Ninth Ward”. This book described a lot about what happened in the hurricane and described the sound effects of the storm. It also had a lot and gave of details on Mama Ya-Ya and how wonderful she was to Lanesha. The characters in the book were courageous and brave. Even though they went through a lot like the storm and Lanesha lost Mama Ya-Ya . They had the will to over come some difficult obstacles, by using inner strength.
For this book we had the opportunity to read both a Kindle and a book. I was pleased to read both the book and the Kindle . I enjoyed reading the Kindle because it was easy to work with and there’s no pages to turn . But the difficult part about the Kindle was the button you press to advance the pages . It was difficult because i easily got lost. But the Kindle is a wonderful reading instrument.
I love the Kindle
By Damien B.
My opinion on the book “Ninth Ward” is that the text really relates to material I watch on T.V. That’s why it caught my attention.For example, the part when they survived the flood reminds me of the show Survivor.  Seeing people close to death but surviving is a theme present in both.
I think the book is not better than kindle. Additionally the kindle has more features, for example, a dictionary, the ability to browse the internet and more.  That’s why I love the kindle.
6 thoughts on “To Kindle or Not to Kindle, That is the Question.

  1. I think it is interesting that only a few students listed the author, Jewelll Parker Rhodes in their postings. I wonder if this is a reflection of reading on an e-book and not seeing the cover of the book every time you pick it up to read?

  2. @Ashante H. – good point, I also think that the Kindle is difficult to read outside sometimes.
    @Jade C. – I completely agree, the dictionary function makes reading new words much easier.
    @Mithila T. – the Kindle is definitely convenient. I even downloaded the app to my phone so, I can read books from my phone too.
    @Amanda G. – I agree, I get lost a lot when I’m reading on the Kindle too.
    @Damien B. – I love the Kindle too.

    @the whole group – great description of the book, I just downloaded it to my kindle and look forward to reading it.

    • I love reading on the Kindle but I agree that it is easy to lose your place. I wish it had page numbers. You all described the Ninth Ward so well that it really makes me want to read the book!

  3. I will always love a book. You can write notes in the margin. You can page back a few pages to reference something. However, if you read a lot, as I do, a Kindle makes traveling much lighter and it makes that “Oh no, I can’t pack too many books but what if I start this one, but don’t like it, then it’s dead weight….” less of an issue!

  4. Jade, Damien: I am such a fan of the dictionary in my Kindle, too. Sometimes I find I look up the meaning of words I already know just because it’s so easy to do so (and sometimes I like to think about how a particular word is being used).

    That said, I agree with everyone else about missing the physical relationship I have with a *real* book. I like the worn corners of the cloth covers of hardbacks I’ve collected from dusty used bookstores, the paperback cover designs that practically scream the decade of the book’s publication, even the different sizes of the paperbacks themselves (ever notice how publishers indicate which books are more “serious” by the trim size? The bigger the (soft cover) book, the more “literary” it is!)).

    Still, as much I love a book-book (and to open it up and smell that new-book smell), my Kindle makes reading (especially in transit) so much easier. And I’ve got 200+ books in my pocket–that’s pretty hard to beat!

  5. Ashante, it means so much to hear you say that about Ninth Ward! I still love the feeling of holding a book in my hands, too.
    Jade, I’m so glad you liked the book! That’s a great point about the dictionary in kindle– I still use it, too.
    Mithila, you are a very insightful student. I do believe that with courage and determination you can do anything, and it is wonderful to hear that you felt that way after reading the book, too. I also don’t think you’d have given up, you sound like a very strong young woman.
    Amanda, how wonderful to read your response to the book, and I’m so glad you had a positive experience with it. I bet you have a great deal of inner strength, too.
    Damien, what a great connection you’ve made! It is amazing to see what people will do when they are put in such difficult, “survivor” situations. Can you think of any connections like this to your own life?

    To All,
    Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! I can tell you enough how much I appreciate you reading the book. You comments inspire me. It sounds as though you are all great students– keep reading!
    As for the kindle, I love it on the plane. It makes it so much easier to pack, and I always have new books waiting for me at the touch of a button. When I’m home though, I love the feel of a book in my hands, and the smell of paper and ink. Thanks for the debate! I love it!

Leave a Reply

